ft. Destroyer, Lindstrom, Wild Beasts, MGMT, Fever Ray

Prime Cuts this week explores the power of electronica and celebrates it’s diversity.  Destroyer, delivers his 12th studio album, Cover From The Sun is taken from the album and a sweetly short 2 minute stand-out.  The influential Dj/Producer Lindstromhas new material with that steps into a house dance music direction again. Wild Beasts offer their final EP and call it a day, MGMT make a come back, unexpected and the irreverent Fever Ray provides a taster of how direction and take on the world, rather disturbing.

  • Artist: Destroyer
  • Cut: Cover From The Sun
  • Label: Merge Records
  • Field: Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Flocks:  Lo-fi Pop
  • Flavours Of:  The Breeders, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah!, Jesus and the Mary Chain

Dan Bejar’s, lead singer, songwriter and creator of Destroyer just delivered his 12th studio album Ken, a withdrawn but very present collection of cuts that again see the artist take a shift in direction, taking a path of shoegaze, 80s electro (heavy New Order influence), Cover From The Sun is a driving traditional drum, guitar and bass cut, short at 2 minutes 13 seconds and his most commercial friendly.

  • Artist: Lindstrom
  • Cut: Bungl (Like A Ghost) feat. Jenny Hval
  • Label: Feedelity
  • Field: Stavanger, Norway
  • Flocks: Left-Field House, Ambient
  • Flavours Of:  Todd Terje, The Juan Maclean, LCD Soundsystem

Over 15 years Lindstrom (Hans-Peter) has remixed some exceptional cuts from some great artists including LCD Soundsystem, Franz Ferdinand, Roxy Music. On his new albumIt’s Alright Between Us as It Is , Lindstrom explores a mellow sound with intricate beats that see him filling some deep house boots. Vocals on this cut are by Jenny Hval, Norwegian singer/songwriter once fronting a popular gothic metal.

  • Artist: Wild Beasts

    Wild Beasts Photo Cred Klaus Thymann HI RES 6 UNCUT.jpg
  • Cut: Punk Drunk & Trembling
  • Label: Domino
  • Field: Kendal, United Kingdom
  • Flocks: Dark Electro Pop
  • Flavours Of: Jagwar Ma, Warpaint, Twin Shadow

A month ago Wild Beasts announced that they were disbanding, nearly 15 years since forming with five albums delivered.  Their last delivery, Boy King was their most electronic to date, a sound that the bad honed in on since their debut, a cult classic to many British indie music fans. Punk, Drunk and Trembling is their final EP, the title track brings together all the best elements of Wild Beasts, their ability to create seductive electro-pop music, always kept them unique and true to their musical beliefs and visions.

  • Artist: MGMT
  • Cut: Little Dark Age
  • Label: unknown
  • Field:  Connecticut, USA
  • Flocks: Electro Pop, Neo-Psychedelia
  • Flavours Of: Empire Of The Sun, Portugal. The Man, Tame Impala

Many thought MGMT lost it, following the delivery of their self-titled 3rd album but to those who were actually new to the band saw them as worthy long laster’s in the fickle neo-electro pop world.  Self-titled, Little Dark Age, is long awaited and has MGMT maintaining their new-wave sound and gauging from the video clip, showing some love for Robert Smith from The Cure. Video directed by Nathaniel Axel and David MacNutt.


  • Artist: Fever Ray

    Style: “fever ray 2”
  • Cut: To The Moon and Back
  • Label: Rabid Records
  • Field: Nacka, Sweden
  • Flocks: Electronica
  • Flavours Of:  Syvia, Glasser, Aphex Twin

The Knifes Karin Dreijer, continues on her solo discovery of deep dark electronica under the moniker Fever Ray, although with this new cut, To The Moon & Back. Dreijer’s musical composition may well have tamed but her lyrics and video are of extreme, as can be expected.  Still no word on a new album.